Why I Write Poetry

Well, the April PAD Challenge has been over for 5 days now, and it’s time to get back into the poetry groove. Just because I haven’t been posting on this blog doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy! Since April 30, the day the challenge officially ended, I have submitted a CNF story to an anthology, entered another essay writing contest, started a 6-week online essay writing class, and submitted 26 haiku and other poems to Kukai, journals, and PAD challenge wrap-ups. I even am a finalist for the third week in a row, in the TriMet Dirty Words Twitter Haiku Contest. There’s still time to vote in the latter. Votes are accepted through 3 p.m. tomorrow afternoon! http://bit.ly/bBpzWg

The Poetic Asides prompt today was to write a poem about why we started writing poetry. Easy enough.

A Poet Is Born


It all began with purple cows
Gobble-uns and whatnot
Piggy-wigs and slithy toves
I just had to give it a shot.

My early poetry lacked finesse
In fact it was quite plain
But by sharpening my writing skills
I penned my first quatrain.

And now I cannot stop myself
From reading verses and also writing
The world that it’s opened up to me
Is simply too inviting!

3 thoughts on “Why I Write Poetry

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Why I Write Poetry « Prose Posies -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

