Leek and Potato Soup

Since two people asked, here’s a great family recipe for leek and potato soup. Especially tasty this time of year when the Farmer’s Markets carry fresh leeks, onions,garlic cloves and potatoes. I never actually measure anything since I’ve been making it for years now, so I had to guess at some measurements. I’d love to hear how it comes out!

Leek and Potato Soup Recipe

3 good-sized leeks

1 large onion

2-3 garlic cloves

butter

6 large potatoes, peeled and sliced thin

nutmeg, pepper, to taste

4 cups water

1 cup milk

Cut the white part of the leeks into coin-shaped slices, and sauté in butter with minced onion and crushed garlic until browned. Add 4 cups of water, nutmeg (I think I use about 1 tsp.) and ground pepper to taste, and add the peeled and sliced potatoes. Lower heat, stir occasionally, and cook covered until the potatoes are soft and starting to fall apart. (I never actually timed this, but I’m guessing it takes about ½ hour). Uncover, add one cup of milk and leave on low heat just until the milk heats through, stirring frequently. It doesn’t need to boil, and don’t let it burn on the bottom! Serve immediately. We always eat it with cornbread, but any kind of bread or rolls go well with it. Enjoy!

(I’m pretty sure I got this recipe from my mom, years ago. It is a great family favorite!)

Leave a Reply

