Two Haiku

Only one week into it, I can see that writing posts every Monday, Wednesday and Friday is going to be a challenge. But when the going gets tough, the tough get tougher. 🙂

Haikuworld just announced the results of the June Shiki Kukai, and I was delighted to see that my free form Kukai took 5th place. I entered my first two haiku in March, and to my chagrin, received no votes. But I am a quick study, and after four months, am beginning to appreciate what makes one haiku really stand out, while another is merely okay. And how some of that is simply personal taste. My two haiku from this month: (“fifth birthday party…” was the 5th place winner)

fifth birthday party —
the oak adds
another ring

***

the drowsy murmur
of waves…
sun warm on my back

Leave a Reply

