Paris

I know better than anyone that life isn’t a competition, and I don’t need contest wins or publications to validate me… BUT, it sure is nice to get a little recognition once in a while. So it was with great pleasure when I saw that my poem “Paris” made the Top 50 list, in the 2010 Poetic Asides Poem-a-Day Challenge.

Here then, is the poem reprinted:

Paris

We bow our heads
at la Tombe du Soldat Inconnu,
collect postcards at le Louvre
and stroll along la Rive Gauche
in the footsteps of Hemingway.
April, I say, isn’t the best time
to be in Paris,
as inconsistent skies
pelt rain on us one moment
and smile upon us
with all the good will
of a benevolent parent the next.
But Paris, he murmurs,
isn’t the worst place
to be in April.

4 thoughts on “Paris

  1. Great poem and thanks for making a comment on ‘the cancer spot,’ about HEALING WITH WORDS.

    Do let me know if you want me to come speak to your group about journaling. I do this free — the only cost is that each participant must buy at least one of my books.

    Best wishes
    Diana Raab
    http://www.dianaraab.com

  2. Thanks, Diana. I will bring this up with my writing group when we reconvene in October. Btw, I noticed you had a cancer story in the latest edition of Survivor’s Review. http://bit.ly/cspFJM You captured very poignantly the uncertainty and fear of diagnosis.

    I have a special fondness for Survivor’s Review, because this was the first online cancer journal/blog I discovered, and they were the first to publish my writing. “The Dogwood Tree”, written shortly after my father’s death was featured in Vol. 7 http://bit.ly/aYb2iK, and “Metamorphosis”, a poem about my own cancer diagnosis appeared in Vol. 9 http://bit.ly/bo6bXk.

Leave a Reply

