2010 Race for the Cure

Hard to believe that we’re already almost halfway through September. And with September comes the annual Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure. Yesterday I was invited to talk with the Lake Oswego chapter of the National Charity League, on behalf of Komen. And as I stood on the stage, in my pink survivor T-shirt, it occurred to me that four years ago, I never could have imagined that I would be addressing a crowd of maybe 300 mothers and their teenage daughters and talking to them about  breast cancer. In fact, four years ago, it was hard to see past the current day. I promised myself that once I got through treatment, and back on my feet again, I would help educate other women about their risk of breast cancer. And yesterday I was finally able to do just that.

I will be volunteering at the (free) health expo this Friday and Saturday at the Oregon Convention Center (Hours: 10 am – 7 pm Friday, and 10 am – 4 pm Saturday), as well as walking the Race for the Cure on Sunday. Hope to see many of you there!

I am also fundraising again this year. Please consider supporting Komen by making a donation on my behalf. Every bit helps!

Leave a Reply

