Add to this Renga!

I’ve been immersing myself in reading haiku these days, my latest book being The Essential Haiku: Versions of Basho, Buson, & Issa, edited by Robert Hass, The Ecco Press, 1994.  So when I saw the announcement of the first poetry gong on Big Tent Poetry, I thought immediately of writing haiku in the style of a poet I am less familiar with, namely Issa. It’s not that I have never read his haiku before– rather, there is something about doing a concentrated study on a single poet at a time. I like his haiku! He was extremely prolific, and wrote about everything from fleas, earthworms and snails, to priests, death, and summer rain.

I originally planned to write a series of haiku for this poetry gong, in response to some of Issa’s haiku, but then I got an even better idea. Why not reprise the idea of writing a renga in community, like I did last August with delightful results. A Summer Renga was composed collaboratively  by vivinfrance, brenda w, 1sojournal, Linda Goin, Lisa Hills, pieceofpie, and of course, me. The original post, along with the rules can be found here. This time, I propose An Autumn Renga, starting with one of Issa’s autumn haiku, and adding on from there:

Autumn moon–
a small boat
drifting down the tide

[Issa]


 

memories of summer fading
with the scent of lavender
[Cara]

Please join in the fun, and add your haiku or couplet in the comments section (they alternate). I’ll keep this going all week, and then put it together at the end into a new post, crediting each contributing poet for their lines.

19 thoughts on “Add to this Renga!

  1. first fire of season
    cheers us at the start of chill
    sparks fly in the stove

    I’d forgotten about the summer version – went back to it and was pleased to find so much that was new to me! Bravo for a very unselfish idea for the gong.

  2. All good verses! 😉

    What schema are we using by the way?

    We shouldn’t repeat each season too many times, for instance Autumn has been mentioned more than the usual twice e.g.

    parliament of rooks – Autumn kigo
    rustle of maple leaves – is this re Fall or other season?

    the crunch of fallen leaves
    a tangle of brown, gold and red – Autumn/Fall

    Ninety one degrees
    Its autumn in Bakersfield – Autumn/Fall
    (Sunday will cool down) – ‘cool’ is a season word for Summer

    I see outlines of maple leaves
    imprinted on the sidewalk – Autumn/Fall?

    Wet windy weather
    while we wonder what to wear – Autumn/Fall
    epitome of Autumn

    Warmth of the autumn sun – Autumn
    hummingbirds suckle
    at the red bird feeder

    I’ve found the Autumn verses fascinating as it’s different in so many regions! 😉

    Why not do an Autumn/Fall rens instead of a renga? Rens is a like a sequence of verses that repeat topics.

    Just a thought,

    all my best,

    Alan

    • Alan– I had specifically targeted autumn as the theme– is there a convention that more than one season should be included in a renga? Any pointers you can give me to writing renga would be welcome– I’m fairly new at this. And yes, it is fascinating how we all perceive autumn different in our various countries/states.

  3. Cara said:

    “Alan– I had specifically targeted autumn as the theme– is there a convention that more than one season should be included in a renga?”

    Traditionally seasons are only mentioned once or twice. It’s only the shisan renku that usually starts in the season we’re in. Other renku go by a poetic order of seasons, quite different than a logical order.

    “Any pointers you can give me to writing renga would be welcome– I’m fairly new at this. And yes, it is fascinating how we all perceive autumn different in our various countries/states.”

    If we mention autumn as often as we do, it’s called “rens”. Nothing wrong with that, and it is fascinating.

    all my best,

    Alan

Leave a Reply

