2010 November PAD- Day 22

Today’s prompt was to write a poem that takes a stand. Today was a yoga day. What else could I write about?

Taking a Stand

From Tadasana, I cross my left leg over my right,
bending at the knees slightly. I’m feeling pretty good
so far, my gaze fixed on a pine tree I can see
through the studio window. Next, I cross my left arm
under my right, bend my elbows, and snug my right
elbow into the crook of my left, my palms lightly
resting together. Slowly I lift my elbows up towards
the ceiling, trying hard to stay as rooted to my spot
as the crow that just landed on the tip of the pine.

Leave a Reply

