2010 November PAD- Day 29

Next to last day of the Poem-a-Day Challenge! I will be very ready to take a breather from writing poetry, and move into editing mode. I haven’t gone back and read any of my Day 1- 28 poems yet, so it will be a surprise (and hopefully a pleasant one!) when I take a look at what I’ve written, starting December 1st. If I have a handful of “keepers” in there, I’ll be very satisfied.

Robert Lee Brewer suggested trying a list poem, to the prompt : write a “next steps” poem. What I decided to try instead was a blitz poem, which I think also qualifies as a list poem of sorts. The blitz poem was even more fun to write than I imagined, once I got the hang of it! I read the rules of the form, took a nice long and invigorating walk while brainstorming what to write, and came home and wrote my poem in a trice. I think what appeals to me is the stream-of-consciousness feel to it. And as an added bonus, and quite unintentionally (or perhaps because I was subliminally influenced by the Big Tent Poetry prompt this week), it also works for that prompt too.

 

Poem to Write

Make a list
Make a poem
Poem away
Poem all day
Day for writing
Day at a time
Time to spare
Time enough
Enough is enough
Enough is too much
Much ado
Much to do
Do the laundry
Do the dishes
Dishes on the counter
Dishes in the sink
Sink full of suds
Sink or swim
Swim with the sharks
Swim away
Away today
Away somewhere
Somewhere special
Somewhere in time
Time to write
Time to start
Start at the beginning
Start over again
Again and again
Again I write
Write a stanza
Write a line
Line by line
Line at a time
Time for breakfast
Time for a walk
Walk for an hour
Walk in the cold
Cold fingers
Cold toes
Toes and fingers
Toes the line
Line by line
Line at a time
Time doesn’t wait
Time to write
Write a poem
Write a list
List
Poem

40 thoughts on “2010 November PAD- Day 29

  1. Brilliant take on both prompts. The form strikes me as infinitely more interesting than a simple freewrite – which is how my poems often start. Yours takes stream of consciousness to a new level.
    ViV

    • Thanks, Viv. The trick with the blitz poem is to shut off the critic part of the brain that says everything has to be logical or grammatical. And the other trick is to number your lines 1 – 50 at the start, so you know when to stop!

      • Thanks, Cara. I tried one for day 30 of PAD, but swept unknowing past the 50 line mark and had to re-cant! Now I know to number the lines, I shan’t make that mistake again.

    • That’s what made it fun to write– I was just doing a core dump of everything in my brain at the time. (Oops, does that expression date me?)

      Actually, you did answer my question. Thanks! Whenever I get a comment on my blog, WordPress sends me an email, and the email had the HTML code, not the hyperlink. I think I can get it to work now. 🙂

  2. oh darn . . . I typed in the code and it made it a hyperlink. Doh! Ignore the double quotes at beginning and end and let me see if this can work: It is what the other commenter on Big Tent wrote only instead of the parenthesis, use the . If you need more help, e-mail me from my blog.

  3. I looked at Robert’s explanation for about 30 seconds, and left. Your poem makes it seem sane and, in fact, orderly. Love some of your associations–sharks/away.

  4. Am going to have to try this form. It does seem a lot like stream of consciouness, but with just a bit of control with the repeats to keep it contained and making sense, not drifting off somewhere on some tangental excursion. Which is what my soc writes have a tendency to do. But, also like the write itself, it sounds like me trying to get myself in gear, only to look up and see that I have been, lol. Thanks for this one,

    Elizabeth

  5. Great stream of consciousness style, building on itself without any cannibalizing to an end at just the right point–I agree it’s extremely helpful to write structure-poems to a written down framework like that (ababccdd, 1-50, whatever.) Enjoyed the piece.

    • I’m glad it made sense to someone besides me. 🙂 By about Day 25 or so, I was completely having brain freeze, and wasn’t sure I had it in me to finish. It’s a busy time of year to be trying a PAD challenge!

    • November is a tough time for completing a PAD challenge. And it’s going to be even tougher to try to find time in December to edit the poems and put them together in a cohesive collection. Here’s to April!

    • Carolee- I never go back and read my poems right away. By putting a distance between me and the work, I find I can be more objective about separating the (proverbial) wheat from the chaff. I love your idea of writing a post about what happens when I do finally read them!

Leave a Reply

