Twenty Questions

Here’s what comes of it when I have too much time on my hands, and a Big Tent prompt to write a list poem. I can happily make lists of questions until the cows come home! These barely skim the surface…

Twenty Questions

Why do I only remember some of my dreams? Will people be routinely
microchipped one day? Why is it called wonder in a child, and nosiness
in an adult? Can the human mind truly grasp infinity? Will it ever stop
raining? If we all looked before we leapt, would we have come this far?
Would I have become a different person if I hadn’t eschewed Dick, Jane,
and Sally for the Cat in the Hat? Where indeed are the snows of yesteryear?
Will time tell? Does life imitate art, or vice versa? Does it matter? Will
the generation gap ever close? What is the actual proportion of inspiration
to perspiration? Does it vary from person to person? What if Big Brother
really is watching? Is it possible to be too connected? Is a miss as good
as a mile? Can words really fall on deaf ears? Do we add layers to ourselves
annually, like the grown rings of a tree? Will I ever run out of questions?

26 thoughts on “Twenty Questions

  1. Wish it had continued for at least twenty more. What a discussion this would generate. Love it and thank you. And yes, words sometimes do fall on deaf ears, and slide down the jaw line, dripping off the chins of those who choose not to listen.

    Elizabeth

    • Thanks, Elizabeth. I wrote this while I was watching my daughter’s little poodle, who has a broken leg. He was sleeping, and as I sat there, I idly took out my spiral notebook and began listing questions. I have pages of them– I decided to extract only 20 for this poem. I guess I was that pesky little kid who was forever asking “why?” πŸ™‚ I would love it if people posted answers to any or all of the questions here in the comments! These really are things I think about…

      P.S. I love your imagery of words sliding down jaw lines and dripping off chins– I think I know a few people like that. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you, Viv. There is a wonderful quote in Oliver’s Travels in which the Alan Bates character says: “Look at this place. Did you ever see such a big question? Too big for me. That’s why I stick to silly and trivial questions. Fear. Big questions frighten me. Well I suppose that’s why we have them, to keep us in our place.”

      I like to ask the big and little questions…

Leave a Reply

