In the News

Day 2 of the  Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: Have you ever written for a local, regional, or state-wide newspaper? If so, what did you like or not like about the experience? If not, would you like to try it?

My response: I have! Every September since 2008, I’ve had the opportunity to write a brief article about my experiences being a breast cancer survivor for the Oregonian, in conjunction with the Komen Race for the Cure. For the longer “My Turn” article, I worked with an editor to refine the piece, and that was an extremely helpful exercise for me. Journalistic writing is a bit different than what I am used to, so it was fun to try something new. But best of all, two new women joined my cancer survivors’ writing group, as a result of reading my article about it in the Oregonian.

Three of my Oregonian articles are now online at OregonLive:

“Survivors: What I Learned”, OregonLive.com, September 12, 2009. (scroll down to my name)

“My Turn: Breast Cancer Survivor Finds Healing Through Reawakened Passion”, OregonLive.com, September 17, 2009. (the choice of title was not mine!)

“How I Got My Life Back”, OregonLive.com, September 14, 2010.

The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

2 thoughts on “In the News

    • Yes, it made me laugh. The version that appeared in the newspaper was entitled “Writing Group Inspires Breast Cancer Survivor”, which admittedly was a bit dull (and wasn’t my original title either!) Whoever posted it online apparently felt it needed to be spiced up a bit. 😉

Leave a Reply

