Be Not Proud

Day 8  of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: What is your single proudest writing accomplishment in your career thus far? How might this writing success point you towards future success?

My response:

I have to say, this question made me pause. My single proudest writing accomplishment thus far? That is almost like asking me who my favorite child is! I thought over all the works I had published. Should I go with the first writing I ever published? The first one in a print anthology? My first published poem? My first contest win? I thought of all these and more, and then I had an “aha” moment and knew what I would write. My single proudest writing accomplishment was when four years ago, I gathered the courage to walk into a cancer survivors’ writing group, with no writing experience to speak of, and read what I had just written to eight other women, who until that point, were total strangers to me. It taught me once and for all, that to grow as a person, we need to take measured risks sometimes.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

