Like Mother, Like Daughter

Day 9  of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: Yesterday was Mother’s Day! Share something with us about you and your mother or you and your daughter. It can be a memory, a moment, an object that is meaningful to your relationship, or whatever else you can come up with. Show or tell, it’s up to you.

 

My response: It’s been three years since I lost my mother, and as Mother’s Day approached this year, I was missing her terribly. Yes, my life has gone on, and yes, good things have happened to me since then, but there just seemed to be a gap in my life that has remained unfilled. I tried to think what it was about my mother that I missed the most. I missed her cheerful, lilting voice on the other end of the telephone, I missed my biannual visits to their house, I missed her upbeat attitude, her interest in everything that happened to anyone in the extended family, our conversations, and her smile, but most of all, I missed her unconditional love. And then it occurred to me. Now that she is gone, it is my job to do all those things for my children that she did for me, including showering them with unconditional love, and being there for them 24/7. That is, after all, the basic circle of life. And with that thought, my grief for her grew a little lighter.

Stories that I published with my mom in them:

“The Tao of Laundry”, in  A Cup of Comfort for Mothers

“Expert Advice”, in Chicken Soup for the Soul: New Moms

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

