Then Came Magic

Day 9  of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: Tell us about your write start. What are some of your earliest memories of putting thoughts on paper? What was the experience like for you then? Has your experience of writing changed or is it still the same as it was?

 

My response: 

I do remember my early writing efforts! I must have been about 11 or 12 years old, and had just finished reading Edward Eager’s “Half Magic”, and remember thinking, I’d like to write something like that. So I did. I produced a little book entitled “Then Came Magic”, complete with illustrations. Unfortunately it also bore a remarkable resemblance to “Half Magic”, so its distribution was limited to my brother (who was one of two key characters in it) and me (who was the other key character). I attempted two more fiction works, and some poetry and haiku, before turning to journaling. By my early twenties, I had given up writing altogether.

When I started writing again four years ago, I found it much easier than I had when I was younger, probably because I have more life experience to tap into. These days, I mostly write creative non-fiction, free form poetry, and especially haiku, but haven’t given up on the idea of writing fiction altogether. And I fully understand the rules about plagiarism now. 😉

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

