For the Love of Words

Day 12  of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway .

Today’s question: If a book was written about you it would be called: For the love of… (what?). Remember that it’s a story about something that was big in your life. This could either be since you were a child or the story could still be to come. Make it up if you want or imagine your future.

 

My response:  What do I most want to be known for? That’s an interesting question. I thought of family, but that seemed pretty generic—who doesn’t love their family? Then I thought of nature, but that made me sound like a budding (pun intended!) naturalist. And finally I realized, “Wait, I’m a writer, that’s why I’m answering these prompts in the first place”, so I guess I’d go with: “For the love of words”. It took me the longest time (until four years ago, in point of fact) to realize I had serious writing aspirations. But I come by it honestly. Recently I discovered that three of my mom’s cousins are writers, and one of my cousins published a collection of poetry. I even unearthed a poem my grandfather wrote to my grandmother after he proposed to her. So now I feel like I am in good company.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

2 thoughts on “For the Love of Words

  1. Oh, isn’t that fun when that happens? I think there must be a gene for writing. My kids all say they don’t like to write, but secretly, I think they do. 🙂 I’m so glad we “met” on Poetic Asides!

Leave a Reply

