Publish, Don’t Perish

Day 22 of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway.

Today’s question: Last time I asked a question about self-publishing, it was about whether or not you would consider it. This time, let’s pretend you are considering it at some point in your career and it’s not so much about what you’ll self-publish as what you won’t self-publish. Give us an idea of what you will self-publish, what you won’t self-publish, and why.


My response: I think self-publishing would be a great route to go with for the poetry and haiku I write, since poetry is generally published in limited edition chapbooks anyway. And a collection of personal essays would also be a good candidate for self-publishing, because with the popularity of anthologies like Chicken Soup for the Soul, I don’t think there is much of a market for an anthology of personal essays by the same author, unless they are already famous. But beyond that? I guess if I felt I had an idea for a book with universal appeal, or more accurately, with the ability to attract publishers because of its potential to produce revenue, then I might try traditional publishing first. But in all, I don’t think I’d have a problem self-publishing anything.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

