Taking the Reins

Day 23 of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway.

Today’s question:  I like this part of what Therese said, “…writers direct a great deal of their own evolution and ultimate success.” How are you taking the reins of your writing career and steering it towards success, whatever that means for you?

My response:  I like thinking about my writing career as something evolving. In the last few years, I have learned many lessons in when to hold on, and when to let go, as I cared for my parents in their last months. I’ve found that many of these lessons are applicable in other endeavors of life, including writing. My original goal was to try to get as many of my writings as possible in print, feeling that in that way, I could reach the largest audience. But while I value the writings that have or that will appear in anthologies, I came to realize that the flow of information often seemed one-way. Except at the handful of book readings I participated in, I had no way of knowing if my stories were actually being read and enjoyed. And this is when I discovered how much I enjoy the immediacy of the internet, with instant publication and feedback. I still try to keep a hand in anthologies, but I am much more willing these days to try new things, take new challenges, and let go of what is not working for me anymore.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

