A Penny for Your Thoughts

Day 24 of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway.

Today’s question: Gigi came and spoke at the Northwest Author Series. One of the topics she discussed that jumped out at me was the idea of believing that your work has enough value in the world to feel that it deserves funding. Generally speaking, do you feel that your writing is worthy of outside funding? There are no right answers here. This is just something that is interesting to consider if you never asked yourself the question before.

My response:Hmm, I never really thought about this before. I guess I’d have to weigh in by saying that if I was just collecting together family stories, then I probably wouldn’t feel justified asking for a grant. But for essays and poetry of general interest, that might help out another person, then perhaps I would consider funding. What I’m specifically thinking of right now is my cancer survivors’ writing group. For several years, we talked of putting together an anthology, but it never came off, due to time and monetary constraints. Now I’m thinking this project would be an excellent candidate for a grant; I know that at the time of my treatment and initial recovery period, I would have liked to see a collection of stories a little grittier than what is out there on the market. Don’t get me wrong—I have nothing against “uplifting stories”, and have penned a number of them myself. It is just that they don’t always reflect the true day-to-day reality of dealing with a cancer diagnosis, or watching a parent die.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

