The Healing Pen

Day 27 of the Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May-Book Giveaway.

Today’s question: How has your writing impacted your emotional and spiritual life, if at all? If it hasn’t, would you like it to? If it has, please tell us how. Share anything about how writing has had a profound impact on your life. Got any stories about this?

My response:  I got back into writing for its therapeutic benefits. I was trying to recover, physically, emotionally, and spiritually from a cancer diagnosis when I joined a cancer survivors’ writing group. What writing gave back to me was my voice. When I write, I am not merely “a writer who had cancer”, but a person with something to say. Writing not only helped me through my own cancer journey, but it was there for me when shortly after my own diagnosis, two members of my writing group and both of my parents succumbed to cancer. Being able to write daily was the single most powerful tool I had for coming to peace with my new reality.

It’s not too late to join in! The complete rules for this giveaway can be found here.

Leave a Reply

