a river of stones, day 13

The prompt this week on Poetic Bloomings was to write a dodoitsu. This was a new-to-me Japanese form, so naturally I was intrigued, and couldn’t resist giving it a try. I am all about Japanese poetry these days. It looks very tanka-ish. 🙂 I wrote my daily small stone as a dodoitsu.

“The Dodoitsu is a fixed folk song form of Japanese origin and is often about love or humor. It has 26 syllables made of four lines of 7, 7, 7, 5 syllables respectively. It is unrhymed and non-metrical.”

RAINDROPS ON MY SKYLIGHT

I awaken to a sound
so unfamiliar, I just
can’t place it for a moment.
Welcome back, old friend!

After consulting the weather forecast for the upcoming week, I see more rain haiku and prose in my future!

5 thoughts on “a river of stones, day 13

    • I love discovering new forms. Since I don’t count syllables anymore for haiku (except to make sure they’re not too long), this one was a bit more of a challenge than I expected!

  1. Nice work!

    The form was new to me as well. Unfortunately, I wasn’t as smart as you. I should have combined them as well. Now I still need to write my stone.

    • I try to combine challenges whenever possible. 😉 In fact, I think I may use my Poetic Asides haiku from today as my small stone for tomorrow. Is that cheating?

      I enjoyed your two dodoitsu as well. And yes, the marshmallow one was funny. 🙂

Leave a Reply

