June 2011 Recap

Somehow my monthly recaps got lost in the shuffle. Here’s my recap for June:

– Attended my first haiku conference ever. The Haiku Society of America held their second quarterly meeting June 3-5,  in Bend, Oregon. I took  and posted a handful of photos on Facebook, but the most comprehensive set of photos were posted by Michael Dylan Welch in Picasa Web Albums.

My first haibun was accepted for publication in VoiceCatcher6 this fall.

“muted sunlight” appeared in The Heron’s Nest, Volume XIII, Number 2, June 2011.

“daydreaming” and “flickering stars” appeared in Notes from the Gean, Volume 3, Issue 1, June 2011.

– I had a haiku and a haibun accepted to the September issue of Notes from the Gean.

– A haiku of mine was accepted to the September issue of The Heron’s Nest.

– Took 1st place in the Sketchbook Kukai with my “after the rainbow” haiku. Also 5th place for “getting acquainted”, and 9th place for  “Monday morning” .

– Had five haiku appear in the November/December Sketchbook “vegetable(s)” haiku thread (#3, #32, #34, #36, #38). “open house”, “secrets”, and “hot peppers” were named “Editor’s Choice” by John Daleiden, and “secrets”, “open house”, “hot peppers”, “harvest moon”, and “afternoon siesta” were named “Guest Editor’s Choice” by Bernard Gieske.

– Took 2nd place in the June Shiki Kukai (kigo section)with “flea market”, and received  6 points in the free form section with “other galaxies”.

” a new boutonnière” garnered 9 points in the Caribbean Kigo Kukai #25.

Received word from Aubrie Cox that 5 of my haiku are under consideration for the Anthology of English-Language Haiku by Women anthology that she is editing.

One of my haiku will appear in the Haiku North America Conference anthology in August, and one haiku will appear in the Haiku Society of America’s member anthology this fall.

– And I continued to write daily haiku for NaHaiWriMo!

4 thoughts on “June 2011 Recap

  1. Wow, great month, Cara! Congratulations!
    Good to see you doing your recaps again. And thanks for the links to the results for the haiku thread: I found out I managed to appear within each editor’s selections. 🙂

    • Thanks, Kirsten. I don’t why we didn’t get an email about Sketchbook this month– usually we do. I found about it by accident from someone else’s blog. I was happy to see your haiku as Editor’s Choice selections. 🙂

Leave a Reply

