Wintry Dawn

I think I finally decided the “theme” that I will use for the Poetic Asides November PAD Chapbook Challenge will be the same as last year, which is to write in as many different poetic forms as I can over the course of the month. I started out with a rhyming poem, then haiku, a triolet, and today’s offering is a bell curve Fibonacci. As a former mathematician (and still one at heart), I delight in forms with strict syllable counts. The Fibonacci takes its name from the Fibonacci sequence, which determines the number of syllables per line. For the bell curve Fibonacci, the syllable count is: 1-1-2-3-5-8-8-5-3-2-1-1, which if I haven’t made any mistakes, is what I ended up with. Today’s prompt is to write about an unexpected discovery.

Wintry Dawn

the
sky
as it
lightened from
the edges until
it slowly became the color
of marble or alabaster
or the thick cream in
the coffee
that I
don’t
drink

2 thoughts on “Wintry Dawn

    • Very cool, Bruce. It looks like a half-pantoum, and seems like it would be somewhat easier to write than a pantoum, because you can ignore all those pesky rhymes, that is, if I am interpreting the rules correctly. I’ll have to try my hand at it sometime, if I may.

Leave a Reply

