At Peace

For the day 5 prompt of the Poet Asides PAD Chapbook Challenge, I wrote a shadorma, since I was in the mood for counting syllables again. The shadorma is a 6-line poem with syllable counts 3-5-3-3-7-5. The prompt was to write a “broken poem”, and I immediately thought of the pioneer cemetery I visited last month, when I was at Seabeck for a haiku retreat. It took a few tries to make the syllable count come out right, but I finally got it.

 

At Peace

the last rays
of afternoon sun
fall upon
the broken
pieces of headstone lying
amongst wild salal

2 thoughts on “At Peace

Leave a Reply

