Raking Leaves

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt was to write a paranormal or normal poem. I was raking leaves today, in my backyard, which seems to be about as normal as you can get for this time of year, so that’s what I went with. The form I chose was a monotetra.

Raking Leaves

another leaf has come to rest
and though I try to do my best
I fear I’m failing in my quest
I do not jest, I do not jest!

the leaves fall faster than my rake
while my muscles begin to ache
a rest is what I’d like to take
I need a break, I need a break!

Leave a Reply

