Morning Commute

My very first poem was published by Vinnie Kinsella, in the Four and Twenty online poetry journal, back in November/December 2008. Between November 2008 and April 2010, I had seventeen poems appear in the journal or on the website. The earliest Four and Twenty issues are no longer online, but one of my favorite issues was Volume 3 Issue 4, April, 2010, in which three of my poems appeared: “Inheritance”, “What I Think About”, and “Vagaries of the Season”, the latter two illustrated by my daughter.

For no particularly good reason, I haven’t submitted to Four and Twenty again until recently, although I read every new issue cover to cover, so I was very honored to learn that one of  my poems, “Morning Commute”, was selected as the November 8th Four and Twenty of the Week.

If you’re curious, a four and twenty is simply a short form poem containing up to four lines, and no more than twenty words. That’s it. As such, all haiku are also four and twenties, but four and twenties are much more inclusive. That means all the literary devices forbidden for haiku are allowed in four and twenties, including metaphor, simile, personification, alliteration, consonance… well, you get the idea. Anyway, check out the journal and try your hand at four and twenties; they’re as addicting as haiku!

 

Leave a Reply

