The Distance Between Us

The prompt today for Poetic Asides was to write a poem from a different perspective. I wanted to try something new, so I scrolled down the list of poetic forms that Robert Lee Brewer has up on the Poetic Asides blog, and decided to try the Bop It seemed straight-forward enough, so I went with the first topic on my mind.

The Distance Between Us

She tugs at my leash
all the time-
walk, she tells me,
don’t stop
don’t dawdle
keep up with me.

it’s as though she walks with blinders

The ground is fresh
with the scents
of those
who have passed
this way before.
There are leaves to chase,
thickets
to explore.

it’s as though she walks with blinders

If only I could
make her see
that the length
of the walk
is not what matters,
but the breadth.

it’s as though she walks with blinders

2 thoughts on “The Distance Between Us

  1. I really like this. Truthfully, as I started reading and realized where it was headed, I expected cheesiness (always the cynic!). But I was impressed as I continued. It’s a very nice piece, great insight and POV.

Leave a Reply

