True Love

Today’s prompt on Poetic Asides was to write a love or anti-love poem. I’ve seen this prompt quite a few times before, in past challenges,  so the challenge is to try to cover new ground each time!

True Love

I once thought love
was endless bliss
consecrated by marriage
and sealed with a kiss.

Now thirty-two years
have flown by
and I’m still married
to the same old guy.

And I finally think
I begin to see
just what true love
really means to me.

It’s him rising early
when there’s thick, dense fog
to feed the cats
and walk the dog.

Leave a Reply

