Fall Leaves

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is to write an “it’s too late” poem. I must say that I generally have my day’s poem written by 10 a.m. or so, but it’s another story finding the time to post it. Perhaps I can write my next “it’s too late” poem about that!

Fall Leaves

When the last leaf falls
it’s too late
to call back summer
or bemoan your fate.

When the last leaf falls
the fun’s all done
and the rest of the year
is on the run.

When the last leaf falls
you’d better move on
and accept that summer
is dead and gone.

Leave a Reply

