Suspicious Minds

The prompt for today on Poetic Asides was to write a “suspicious minds” poem. I immediately thought of the delightful book by Robert Kraus that I read as a child, called “The Trouble with Spider”. In it, a lonely spider tries to lure a fly into his web, with no ulterior motive except to have a friend. Of course the fly distrusts him. But with the help of a ladybug, the three of them come up with a creative solution that satisfies them all. What the story lacks in realism, it makes up for in charm.

I felt it was time to try a new form for this challenge, so I reprised the cascade poem that I was introduced to last year. This time though, instead of writing a tercet cascade, I went with a quatrain verse.

Suspicious Minds

Be so kind as to visit me,
to the fly, the spider cried.
If it’s all the same, I’d rather not,
is what the fly replied.

Inside my web, I’ve been so lonely,
I wish you would come to tea.
It would make me very happy, if you’d
be so kind as to visit me.

I’d welcome you with open arms
continued the spider, as the fly he eyed.
I’m not insensible to your charms,
to the fly, the spider cried.

The back of my neck is prickling,
said the fly, like a lobster in a pot.
I have places to go and things to see, so
if it’s all the same, I’d rather not

Of your intentions, I’m a bit suspicious,
so I hope you don’t think me snide,
But I’d like to live another day,
is what the fly replied.

Leave a Reply

