Whenever I Wake

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is to write a poem with the title” “Whenever (blank)”. This is a tercet cascade:

Whenever I Wake

Whenever I wake to a cold, rainy morn
I want to roll over and go back to sleep
but today being Monday, I can’t.

I hit the snooze bar again and again
and snuggle deeper beneath my covers
whenever I wake to a cold, rainy morn.

Lying there quietly soothed by the rain
I feel my eyelids grow heavier until
I want to roll over and go back to sleep.

If this were the weekend, I’d shut off my alarm
and close my eyes to resume my dreams
but today being Monday, I can’t.

Leave a Reply

