Vegetable Wars

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt was to write a poem, using the name of a fruit or vegetable as the title. I was in the mood for a skeltonic poem, but after I wrote it, I realized I hadn’t followed the rules for the title. Oh well! The rules for skeltonic verse are simple: keep the lines short (3-6 words) and keep rhyming subsequent lines until you run out of rhymes, then switch to another rhyme and do it again.  A rhyming dictionary is essential! This is my favorite rhyming dictionary.

Vegetable Wars

On bended knees
I ask you please
to eat your peas.
I mean jeez
Money doesn’t grow on trees.

No! No! No!
Just make them go!

But don’t you know
you need them to grow,
although,
perhaps you prefer beans
you need some greens
and that means
I’m tired of these scenes.

I don’t like beans at all.
They make my skin crawl!

How about chard?
You make this so hard!
Don’t discard
my advice to eat right.
So don’t fight,
hold on tight
and take a bite.
You just might
like veggies despite
all this ado.
It would be a coup
If only you
would eat a radish or two
so don’t be blue.
Just chew
and if you do,
you’ll soon be through.

In lieu
of a radish, I’ll have a carrot.
At least that has merit!

4 thoughts on “Vegetable Wars

Leave a Reply

