Their Story

Today’s Poetic Asides prompt is to write a poem with the title: “(blank) story”. I wrote a free form poem, which I suppose is a poetic form of sorts:

Their Story

Perhaps they met at a party,
their eyes locking across the room
or were introduced by friends
or stumbled into each other in a bookstore
a crowded elevator or a classroom.
Perhaps she wore her heart on a sleeve
or was standoffish or didn’t even notice him
at all at first, while he was on the rebound
from a failed romance or had never been in love
before or had been in love with her for months
or years or minutes. However it happened
here they are, married, thirty-two years later,
with three kids, two cats, and a house in the ‘burbs,
still telling their story.

4 thoughts on “Their Story

    • Thank you so much, Sanjuktaa! With the holidays and all our company, I wasn’t sure I would be able to keep it going this year. But with my last poem (which I have yet to write), I will have completed the challenge of 30 poems in 30 days. Now I’m ready for a break!

Leave a Reply

