Moonbathing

I’ve been curious about tanka for awhile, but only recently started writing them. So I was delighted to receive my copy of Moonbathing, a journal of women’s tanka today in the mail, containing my first tanka to appear in a journal. It was a real treat to open the covers and see the lovely tanka from so many women I have come to know from Facebook, or met at haiku conferences this year. I look forward to trying my hand at more tanka this year.

 

they tell me
she is in a better place
breathing in the night air
I almost mistake
airplane lights for stars

5 thoughts on “Moonbathing

  1. A lovely tanka, Cara. Hope my issue of MB comes tomorrow, so I can spend the rest of the weekend reading all the poems there!

    P.S. I like the way you’ve set up your pages (with divisions for each category of writing); think I’ll do something similar on my blog.

    • Thank you, Margaret. I’ve been enjoying your tanka, and in fact, I’m pretty sure I first heard about Moonbathing through your blog. I am so glad I discovered it. I didn’t know what I was missing!

      My blog is definitely a work in progress. Since I write poetry, as well as various kinds of prose, I originally considered creating different blogs for each different kind of writing, like some people do. Then I discovered that WordPress allows you to set up multiple top level pages, which is an extremely useful feature. I’m hoping 2012 is finally the year I get organized!

Leave a Reply

