Dreams

I am much appreciative of the inspirational quotes WordPress gives me, every time I add a new post to my blog. I wasn’t reading them very closely at first, but now I am thoroughly enjoying them, and thought I would share them here, along with my response.

 

“Dreams are illustrations from the book your soul is writing about you.”– Marsha Norman

 

I’ve always been fascinated by what my dreams say about me, since I remember so many of them. They are generally very convoluted, involving little snippets of many things I have read, seen, or thought about in the past 24 hours. Other times, they seemingly come out of nowhere. Take last night’s dream, for instance. We had just gotten a new white kitten, and I was ecstatic that our two existing cats seemed not only to be accepting it, but were enamored with it. Then it died suddenly, and I woke up feeling sad. In another part of my dream,my father was still alive, and we were working out some complicated logistics of who would pick up my sister from the airport, and in which car. I apparently had some other commitment I couldn’t break, and all the cars were tied up. What is my soul trying to say about me, I wonder? I’m sure I don’t know.

3 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. I find dreams fascinating – my own and others. However, I’m not good at analyzing them. I find it interesting that the kitten died but your dead father was alive. Do you write them in a dream journal?

    • I haven’t kept a dream journal, Barb, but I’m thinking it would be an interesting exercise. I wondered the same thing about why I transposed the kitten and my father in my mind. I’m sure Freud would have had something interesting to say about that! I had more strange dreams last night.

Leave a Reply

