Our Favorite Walk

In 2011, I started entering a non-kukai haiku contests once in a while. Most contests have a nominal fee ($1 per haiku), while others are free. The way I look at it is this. I have little to lose, and a lot to gain. When a judge who has been reading (and writing) haiku for a long time sees something of merit in what I write, it not only validates me as a writer, but it helps me discern which pieces I write have a more universal appeal. When I submitted my first tanka to the 2011 San Francisco International Competion for Haiku, Tanka, Senryu, and Rengay, I didn’t expect much, so I  was thrilled to have it take 2nd place, among other poets whose work I admire. I wrote it about my daughter and me, when I visited her this past October, but after reading the commentary, realized that it could about any two people.

our favorite walk
by the river–
deep in conversation
we cover
the same old ground

6 thoughts on “Our Favorite Walk

    • That’s true, they probably didn’t love everything they wrote either, but at least they were prolific and kept trying to improve. I guess that’s a good enough goal to strive for!

Leave a Reply

