J is for Jam

NaHaiWriMo- Day 10

I’d never heard of a marionberry before I moved here. And then we discovered Evelyn’s Bakery. Everything there was mouthwatering, but the best thing she made, in my humble opinion, was the marionberry pie. It was the perfect combination of sweet and tart, and everyone in the family liked it. In fact, it soon became the standard dessert to mark special occasions: birthdays, graduations, family reunions… Sometimes we even ate it just because we felt like it, no special reason. And then one day, Evelyn retired, just like that, closing down her bakery for good. I know other bakeries sell a pretty respectable marionberry pie, but somehow, it’s just not the same.

dewy dawn
toast slathered
with marionberry jam

4 thoughts on “J is for Jam

    • It is, Sandy. Did you live here long? I also Googled marionberries, because I was curious where they got their name, and in addition to learning about the Marion County connection, I also discovered that Oregon produces between 28 million and 33 million pounds of them annually. Who knew?

      • Only until I was four, and after I got married, my husband I moved back to Salem for a while. Oregon is really a beautiful state, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

