Lingering Cold and Night Lights

The first Shiki kukai I participated in was in March 2010, and I’ve entered every one since. What I like best about the kukai is that the voting is anonymous, meaning that each haiku rises or falls on its own merits. Which means that someone who is fairly new to haiku is suddenly on the same footing as someone who has been writing haiku for decades. For February, the kigo was “lingering cold” and the free form topic was “night lights” (of the astronomy type). My “lingering cold” haiku took 2nd place, with 28 points, while my “shooting star” haiku received 9 points.

lingering cold
 the long ride home
 from the cemetery

shooting star
 my wish
always the same

The full February results can be read here.

4 thoughts on “Lingering Cold and Night Lights

  1. Congrats! I love your lingering cold one. I actually prefer it better than the one that took first but I guess that is just my opinion. A vote is a vote. Also, glad to see Terri and Stella also listed.

    • Thanks Linda. There were so many good haiku. I especially liked the Lingering Cold prompt, even though I placed higher in the other one. I think Cara’s second one deserved more than 9 points. But you never know in Shiki Kukai!

      • I liked the “lingering cold” prompt much better too, Terri. There were more directions to go with it. I am not as up on my “natural light-producing atmospheric phenomena occurring at night” as I could be, especially considering that one of my brothers is an astronomer. Shooting stars are about as good as it gets for me. 😉

    • Thanks, Linda. I actually liked the first place one alot, probably because I have two cats that sleep that way. 🙂 It is fun to see fellow NaHaiWriMo-ers do so well in the kukai contests!

Leave a Reply

