Falling Petals

Another prompt that really struck a chord. The moment I saw the new “I Doodle, You ‘Ku” prompt, it brought back a memory that I had forgotten about. My husband and I were newly married, and had moved up to Seattle to attend grad school. Dad came out to visit us, and took us to the lovely Japanese restaurant Kamon of Kobe, in Bellevue. What I remember most about that night was Dad ordering sake for all of us, and while we were sipping it, Dad regaled us with stories of his travels in Japan. I’m sure we talked about other things as well– my memory of what we ate, why Mom didn’t come out with him on that visit, and what else we might have talked about, are blurred– I just remember that conversation flowed as freely as the sake, and I am now left with a general feeling of warmth as I remember that night. As we left, our waiter told us we could take our sake cups as souvenirs, and Dad told me to keep his. I still have the three cups together on my shelf, and the memory firmly re-established in my heart.

I was very curious if the restaurant was still around after all these years, so I googled it. Apparently it has closed down, but the head chef, Mitsuaki Hara, has opened a sushi restaurant, Kiku Sushi, also in Bellevue. Sometime when we are up  that way again, we will have to check it out. There is always a certain degree of sadness to discovering that things once valued have irreversibly changed, but perhaps something a bit better (or at least equally good) results from this change?

falling petals
we reminisce
long into the night

This haiku (and recollection!) is in response the doodle on Aubrie Cox’s Yay Words blog, Day #12.

4 thoughts on “Falling Petals

Leave a Reply

