Four-leaf Clover

Okay, I know the “clover” is really a shamrock (which is really a clover…), and the “duct tape” is really a dispenser full of Scotch tape, but what is writing about, if not employing a bit of poetic license, once in a while? After taking nearly 24 hours to come up with a haiku for the dreamcatcher prompt, I whipped this one out in about 24 seconds. Dad and duct tape…. I could write volumes…

four-leaf clover
nothing he couldn’t fix
with a little duct tape

I wrote another poem on the same topic, back in April 2010, for the Poetic Asides Poem-A-Day Challenge, which is still one of my favorites:

Have Glue Gun, Will Travel

My father believed
there was nothing you couldn’t fix
with a hot glue gun,
some twine,
and a whole lot of duct tape.

But when it came to people
Dad’s sage advice
for mending anything
from skinned knees
to a broken heart, was time.

It will get better
before you’re married,
he’d always say
and wouldn’t you just know it,
it always did.

The haiku is in response to the doodle on Aubrie Cox’s Yay Words blog, Day #14.

5 thoughts on “Four-leaf Clover

    • Ellen- a few years ago, when I was trying to write a personal essay about my father, I asked my siblings to try to recall some of our favorite “Dad-isms”. We put together a list of over 100 of his most common sayings, and he laughed when we shared it with him. He died a year later, and I am so glad now we made that list. It makes me smile everytime I read it, and brings Dad back to me so clearly.

  1. I love both the poems, Cara. The second one is just wonderful! As for the doodle, i got so confused with different people seeing it in different ways…! My first impression was it’s a snail, then on closer look: nah, it’s a duct tape. In the end, i couldn’t write anything at all 😦

    • Thank you, Sanjuktaa. 🙂 I know what you mean about the ambiguity of some prompts. I was in a weekly writing group for four years, where we wrote to a variety of prompts. One time, the prompt was an object I didn’t recognize– I thought it was some kind of tool, so that’s what I wrote about. It turned out to be a toe separator for doing pedicures, and everyone in the group (including me) got a good laugh out of that, as I was the only one who didn’t know what it was.

      Now, I don’t even worry about it, when a prompt puzzles me– I just write whatever pops into my head. 🙂 On Aubrie’s prompt with the glassware, I couldn’t decide what was inside of them– olives or cherries– so I focused on the stemware instead!

Leave a Reply

