Poet Showcase: Cassie Premo Steele

Name: Cassie Premo Steele
Location: Columbia, South Carolina

Blog: Cassie’s blog

Website: Cassie’s website ~I have a free monthly Co-Creating Newsletter that you can sign up for~

How do you know Cara? I published Cara’s writing at my “Birthing the Mother Writer” column at Literary Mama, and we are now Facebook friends.

How long have you been writing poetry? All my life!

What kind of poetry do you mostly write these days? Poems about mothering a twelve year-old girl.

Please share a poem:

Here’s a poem from my new book, THE POMEGRANATE PAPERS, which comes out April 13th from unbound CONTENT. It will be available from the publisher and on Amazon. There are links and more excerpts on my website.

This Is Mothering

I want to enter your dreams at night like an ancient legend.
I want to be the heroine who rescues you from every demon.

I want to be the spring that returns your blood to warming
on the days you feel too cold and old to lift your head.

I want to be the sudden memory of an answer in a test.
I want to be your stomach full of milk and never hungry,

never worrying when it will next be fed. I want to be your bed
and follow you as you walk down city streets, an offering

of rest throughout your cellphone day. This is mothering;
this wishing for the impossible, a plenitude of never wanting.

We might as well wish to conquer death. We did, once,
before your first breath: turned nothing into something,

made a whole person out of skin and love. You were in us then,
we were your everything, your cards and dice and luck.

5 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: Cassie Premo Steele

  1. Oh, Cassie! I have a 9 year old daughter (and and 10 year old son), and I LOVE this poem! Especially this:
    “We might as well wish to conquer death. We did, once,
    before your first breath: turned nothing into something,

    made a whole person out of skin and love.”

    Wonderful!
    De

  2. Pingback: The Pomegranate Papers – Reading and Book Tour | Hang Windows from the Sky with Yarn

Leave a Reply

