April Acceptances

It is always a red letter day to receive news that one of my poems has been accepted for publication. I currently have haiku, senryu, short form poetry, tanka, haibun, and rengay that was selected to appear in upcoming issues of the following publications:

  • Moonbathing
  • Four and Twenty
  • The Heron’s Nest
  • Mariposa
  • Haibun Today
  • A Hundred Gourds
  • Modern Haiku
  • The Haiku Foundation Haiku App Database 2012
  • Notes from the Gean
  • Multiverses
  • Prune Juice
15 thoughts on “April Acceptances

  1. oh, how productive you are, Cara. I can barely measure up to the 4 I have chosen to submit to regularly … Congrats w all the “acceptions” (new word ;-))

    • “Acceptions”– I like that, Johannes. I started off only submitting to four: Frogpond, The Heron’s Nest, Notes from the Gean, and A Hundred Gourds when they split off from NFTG. But I was (and still am) reading about a dozen journals regularly, so I thought, “what’s the harm in submitting to one more?” The writing is actually the easiest and most fun part. Tracking submissions is a bear!

    • Would love to hear which four you regularly submit to, Johannes, if you don’t mind saying. After my mass of submissions last year, I’m still figuring out which ones I want to submit to most as I can’t afford (in more ways than one) to submit to all the new and wonderful haikai journals I found and had work in in 2011. There are still many I haven’t even tried yet, even just from Cara’s list, like Mordern Haiku, Multiverses, Marisopa, Four and Twenty…

    • Thank you, Alee. The more I read, the more I want to write. I find so much to admire in the work of others, and the only way for my writing to improve is to keep at it!

  2. Wow, that’s an impressive list, Cara! Well done you 🙂
    I’ve only made four submissions this year (five if you count our rengay) and have been accepted to all, so I’m happy with that. I definitely have burn-out after last year!
    I did end up writing the article ‘My Year of Submission’ – will post on my blog next week.

    • I’m really looking forward to reading that article, Kirsten. I don’t know how you did it! Most of the journals I submit to are on the same quarterly (or bi-yearly) schedule, so i do a marathon write, wait to see what gets accepted, and then spend the next two months mostly catching up on my journal reading. All very cyclical. And I would definitely count our rengay– I’m so happy with the way they turned out. 😉

  3. Wow, congrats Cara! I don’t know how you manage to do it. I forget/miss the deadlines in most cases except a few,(just like Johannes) and even then, i don’t get accepted everywhere 😦 I have to get more organized.

    • I have a crazy system of spreadsheets and files to track submissions, Sanjuktaa. It’s very complicated, especially for the haiku, since they don’t have titles. I’ve accidentally submitted similar ones a few times, but so far, knock on wood, I haven’t submitted exactly the same one to two different journals.

      • Yes, I agree, Cara! I have spreadsheets and it’s hard with the haiku having no titles. I’ve submitted the same haiku accidentally a couple of times, but have been lucky that it wasn’t accepted by both (or sometimes either!), so I haven’t gotten myself in a pickle 😉

Leave a Reply

