Poet Showcase: Margaret Dornaus

Name: Margaret Dornaus
Location: Arkansas

Blog: Haiku-doodle

How do you know Cara? Cara and I met through the online haiku community.  I think I discovered her writing through her blog after I started mine a year-and-a-half ago, and began looking around for kindred spirits.

How long have you been writing poetry?  I’ve been writing poetry in the closet for most of my life, and I have a M.F.A. in poetry translation from the University of Arkansas.  But I only began writing Japanese short form poetry seriously a year-and-a-half ago when, on a whim, I started my blog, Haiku-doodle.

What kind of poetry do you write? I write haiku, tanka, and haibun.  I also dabble a bit with haiga.

Please share a poem:

the winter garden
where false hellebore appears
without fair warning
my sister’s mind a landscape
scored with fault lines . . . and furrows

from “my sister’s world”, a tanka series, Atlas Poetica 8, March 2011

soapsuds—
mother tells me how
she’d like to die

The Heron’s Nest, vol XIII, no. 4, December 2011
carving darkness: The Red Moon Anthology of English Language Haiku 2011

one to grow on
in the center of the cake . . .
an extra candle
to light my path forward
to lead me home again

red lights, vol. 8, no. 1, January 2012

14 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: Margaret Dornaus

  1. Nice to meet you, Margaret. “Haiku Doodle” in intriguing. I’ve bookmarked it, and look forward to checking it out.

    Marie Elena

  2. Thank you, “poetic bloomings.” And thank you, Cara! What a surprise to find my poems here today! (I thought you might post mine later.) I’m honored to be a part of your guest post series . . . and to have you as a friend!

  3. What a brilliant start of the week, finding my friend, mi hermana Margaret, here! Thank you, Cara! Margaret and I have been cyber-friends and ‘sisters of the soul’ since she started her blog. I’ve always loved how she crafts her lines like finding seeds I had planted but forgotten blooming with meanings I had been looking for. That she has won not a few awards, published quite extensively in tanka journals, and included in a collection isn’t a surprise. Thanks again, Cara!

  4. An MFA in poetry translation – how very interesting, Margaret. You are full of surprises! Congratulations on appearing in the 2011 Red Moon Anthology. Love your work. Your haibun are amongst those I study to learn more about writing the form myself 🙂

    • Thank you, Terri. I feel very fortunate to have found the haiku path and to walk it with so many talented and supportive poets like you. I also love the diversity of voices and styles that can be found in the haiku community; what a pleasure to get to know someone through their poetry!

Leave a Reply

