Poet Showcase: De Miller

Name: De Miller
Location: Born in Victorville, California. Live in Henderson, a suburb of Las Vegas, Nevada. My soul lives in Lake Tahoe.

Blog: Whimsy Gizmo

How do you know Cara? Poetic Asides

How long have you been writing poetry? At age two, on the way home from Disneyland, I looked wistfully out the back window (the days before carseats) and said, “All done fun.” My mom says there was no looking back after that.

What kind of poetry do you write? Prose poetry. But I love forms, especially the Shadorma and the Fib, and I love to play with internal rhyme.

Please share a poem:

(This has appeared at Poetic Asides, and on my own blog, only.)

FYI

I have held a baby hummingbird
in the palm of my hand.
I have tasted the ocean
and communed with the sand.

I find the smell of paper intoxicating.

I have sold out and messed up
and fallen short and still walked tall.
I’ve pretended to be something I’m not
and pretended to be nothing at all.

I long for lake.

I’ve wasted years waiting to be discovered.
(Deep down, I’m truly lazy at heart.)
I’ve been a pencil with no point.
I’ve pilfered my gifts, and pedaled my art.

I’ve murdered my own muse and resurrected her from the ashes.

I have stolen, cheated, lied, coveted,
and made idols of idle things.
I’ve been selfish, stubborn, stupid,
but my heart, forgiven, sings.

I have been given more than I deserve but less than I want.

I’ve had my heart wrenched from my chest
and handed back as an unrecognizable, oozing, pulpy mess.
And while transplants are successful,
scars are permanent.

I am my own worst enemy.
Now I tell absolute truth
to everyone
but me.

9 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: De Miller

  1. By the way always have adored that photo of you – sheer poetry in itself.

    Sometimes we meet and sometimes we drift on sparkled sea
    Your prowess absolutely shines light-filled and wondrous poetically

    A pleasure as always 🙂

  2. Oh, my favorite poetic wordplay QUEEN! “All done fun” is too stinkin’ cute, and SO you! Thanks for highlighting De, Cara. Love, love, love her words and spirit.

Leave a Reply

