HaikuNow! Contest Results

I am tremendously honored to have received First Prize in The Haiku Foundation‘s HaikuNow! Contest, in the Contemporary Division. You can read the haiku here (scroll down), along with Jim Kacian’s insightful comments on it.

Here’s the back story for the haiku:

Every day for two weeks, the last of my precious mother’s life, I visited my parents (both hospice patients at that point), in a skilled nursing facility in California. The heavy door clicked me in each morning, and out each evening. For the duration of that time, there was no other world for me but the one I was slowly losing. My mother died on February 1, 2008, and my father but a brief time later in Portland, on April 28th of the same year.

 

12 thoughts on “HaikuNow! Contest Results

  1. I came by to congratulate you on winning. My sympathies on the losses that inspired the work; my congratulations on the gem produced by your talent and that pressure.

  2. I read your winning haiku last night. Congratulations on your success! I have a much deeper appreciation of your haiku after you shared your story. It’s very touching. And yes, there’s always something beautiful that emerges from either happy or painful experiences.

    My sympathies for your loss. *hugs*

    I’d also like to say that you write beautiful poetry because it comes from your heart 🙂

    • Thank you, Christine. I really appreciate your kind words. 🙂

      I’ve actually started to write some haibun these days, because I like having the opportunity to tell the back story. Haiku doesn’t always leave enough room!

  3. Dear Cara, Thank you for sharing more of your story and what a great photo of your parents. Jim Kacian’s comments were good to read as well. That was a lot for you at one time. When I was with my mother in her last weeks, I had the same feelings of “no other world.” It felt strange to go to a familiar restaurant after she was “gone.” I believe poetry heals, and it is a great gift to give our hearts away to others in our poetry. Love endures…Blessings, Ellen

  4. Cara, congratulations on winning this excellent contest. I loved the haiku. My mother too passed away in a hospice and it is a sobering experience. I particularly like Jim Kacian’s last sentence:
    This nice management of tricky terrain is worthy of our appreciation.

    Sully

    • Thank you, Sully. Sorry for your loss– hospice is sobering, and what helped me the most during that time was being able to talk with others who had been through a similar experience. I get that same feeling now, when I write about it.

Leave a Reply

