Poet Showcase: Sanjukta Asopa

Name: Sanjukta Asopa / Sanjuktaa
Location: Live in Belgaum, Karnataka, India

Blog: wild berries

How do you know Cara? Long before I knew Cara, I’ve known her poetry. Apparently, both of us were participating in the same kukai contests and I read and admired her haiku on Shiki kukai, Carribean kigo kukai, Sketchbook kukai and many other places before i joined NaHaiWriMo  on Facebook in 2011.I don’t remember who initiated it…perhaps I did… but a friend request was sent and that’s how we became friends. I have always been amazed by Cara’s ability to come up with a stunning response at almost any challenge that is thrown at her (poetrywise) and I imagine she must be that way in real life situations as well.

How long have you been writing poetry? I must have written the odd poetry in my teen years also,but I started pursuing poetry seriously only in 2006 .Haiku happened in late 2007 or early 2008 and was a start-stop-start process till finally I could come back to haiku in the autumn of 2010.

What kind of poetry do you write? These days I write only haiku, a tanka once in a while, am greatly drawn to haiga and though I haven’t quite got the hang of it yet, I dream of writing a haibun some day!

Please share a poem:

match point…
the distance between
this moon and that

(September 2011, Moonviewing party, Haiku bandit Society)

back to school
unlearning
the whole summer

(The Heron’s Nest, Vol 13.4, 2011)

all that I want
to tell you tonight…
glass bangles

(Acorn, spring 2011)

3 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: Sanjukta Asopa

  1. I’m not in the haiku circles, and so have not been exposed to your work, Sanjukta. Very nice to see you and your work here. Cara rocks!

    Marie Elena

Leave a Reply

