Poet Showcase: Robert Lee Brewer

Name: Robert Lee Brewer
Location:
Duluth, Georgia

Blogs: My Name is Not Bob and Poetic Asides

How do you know Cara?  I know Cara mainly through her participation with the Poetic Asides group on WritersDigest.com. We’re also Facebook friends, so I keep up with her that way as well.

How long have you been writing poetry? Around 20 years now, I guess, though I still feel like a beginner.

What kind of poetry do you write? I’m not affiliated with any one school or style. For me, the beauty of poetry is its diversity, and I love poking around in all of poetry’s nooks and crannies. Some of my poems try to describe a moment or a scene; other poems are just obvious attempts at playing with words and sounds.

Please share a poem:

Here’s a poem I wrote last year for a poetry reading that was received well, so I’ll probably use it again in the future.

“Delivery”

This poem is mostly flawed.
For one, I didn’t count the syllables,
but also, it’s not particularly inspired.
At least, that’s what I’ve been told.
If I were a better speaker, I might
be able to hide its flaws in my delivery,
but I’m probably more flawed than this poem.
For instance, I’m a liar.
I snuck into this poem after hours
and measured the lines.
Words were cut.
I transplanted a perfectly healthy metaphor
into the rib cage of a younger poem,
one with a little more promise.
Believe me, I did what I could for this poem,
because I brought it into this world,
but at the end of the day, it’s not much–
just another part of me exposed to the world
that didn’t live up to its full potential.

16 thoughts on “Poet Showcase: Robert Lee Brewer

  1. Oh, yeah … I had a feeling The Boss would show up here. 😀 Yay Cara!

    But seriously, Robert, I wonder just how many of us would not have taken poetry to heart as we have if not for the online, international community you single-handedly created. I, for one, cannot adequately express my thanks.

  2. ditto Marie Elena’s comments Robert – you were certainly the stepping stone for me to writing poetry on a fairly consistent basis and often your encouragement and prompts have been the difference between carrying and stopping – so thank you

  3. Hmmm where do I know this guy not named Bob from..? He seems so familiar..that’s just the way with great poets I guess they have a Universality to them and at the same time are perfectly unique. No, this is the other man I’ve been waking up with every day for the past four years!

    Seriously,, delighted to see RLB here – whose opened a road through which I thought I’d take a quick stroll never imagining it would lead home. Thank you Robert, for who you are, and all you’ve done in creating a poetic community that is far from an “aside”…

    PS you write a heck of a Foreword…hope you enjoyed your copy of Prompted … which.. ahem you prompted.

    Thank you Cara for this continuing showcase!

    • I’m going to piggy back this comment!! Because I agree with every word!! So grateful for everything you’ve done and all that you do in the name of poetry and community! Thank you, Robert!!

  4. Fun poem, Robert — love it! And also, want to echo everyone’s words here. You have sparked such an open, creative atmosphere and a community of encouraging writers who cheer each other on. I feel so lucky that I found the PA site and appreciate all you do to keep it going strong. Kudos to you! 🙂

  5. I was commenting to Diana about how it took me a lifetime to find my way to a most special street that had no sign!! So I too am thankful for you, Mr Robert Lee Brewer, for the amazing poetic friends I have made because of your incredible creative community. This poetic tribe that parades up and down the Poetic Asides street, and I also enjoy all the poems you write! I also especially enjoyed the conspiracy theory of how you do your prompts!!
    Thank You again !!

  6. Robert, thank you thank you thank you for all that you continue to do for poetry and poetry outreach. The community at Poetic Asides and now the one through MNINB which encompasses other fellow writers has been transformational of my very own constitution.

  7. Another round of thanks from me. I started writing on Poetics Aside in 2008. You have opened up an entire world for me, and I love it. This selected poem is wonderful picture of what your writing is like, and how you have no ceiling.

  8. My Aprils have not been the same since I discovered your daily prompts and have challenged myself along with many poets to birth a poem each day and to let each one breathe in the wider world, unassisted, in their very first stage of development. I particularly like the poem you posted here in Cara’s blog and have enjoyed your limited edition chapbooks as well. Thanks for doing what you do.

Leave a Reply

