2012 Genjuan International Haibun Contest

The writing form I am most intrigued with these days is the haibun. When I started writing again in 2007, I mostly wrote prose and that is still what comes the easiest to me. Then I discovered haiku. Haibun is at the intersection of the two, and I am still very much a novice at learning how to tie the haiku effectively into the prose, without being repetitious or too obvious. So I was delighted (and honored) to not only learn that one of my haibun received the An (Cottage) Prize in the 2012 Genjuan International Haibun Contest, but also to receive judges comments from the two judges, Nobuyuki Yuasa and Stephen Henry Gill. In identifying strengths, weaknesses, and assumptions about my haibun, these comments help me refine my notions of what makes an effective haibun. The commended haibun will be posted in the future on the Icebox website, and I will post the link here when that happens. In the meantime, winning haibun from previous years may be read by following the links on the side of the page to the Kikakuza Haibun Contest (the previous name of this contest).

Leave a Reply

