No Reply

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 5:

Today’s question, and my response:

5/5/12: Q: How about you? Rejection? Silence? No reply? Do you take it personally? Do you get offended? Do you get bent out of shape? Do you harumph around like Eloise?

How about a positive response or an acceptance, is that personal?

Is it only personal if it’s positive and not personal if it’s negative? Tell the truth now.

What do you take personally in this crazy writing/networking business? Spill it!

In the business of submitting works for publication, or to contests, there is totally subjectivity in whether or not something of mine gets accepted. This is one person’s judgment of a particular writing of mine, on a particular day, not an acceptance or rejection of me as a person. Am I pleased when a writing of mine is accepted? Of course! Disappointed when it’s not?  Sure. But I’ve learned not to take rejection personally anymore. I’ve also learned to submit exclusively to journals I actually read on a regular basis, and whose style matches mine, thereby reducing the number of “rejections” I get, and now view them as learning experiences, rather than crushing disappointments.

2 thoughts on “No Reply

    • Thank you, Madeleine. 🙂 What fun these contests are! Limericks are one of my favorite forms, pretty close on the heels of haiku. I’m so glad I discovered your site!

Leave a Reply

