Nurture It

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 7:

Today’s question, and my response:

5/7/12:

Q: Who has always been behind your writing career and who helped pull you up the ladder of success?

When I was starting out on my writing pathway, I read one of the first pieces I wrote to my mother, who was dying of cancer. Mom had been a mathematician, and I had followed in her footsteps, picking up a trio of degrees in mathematics, computer engineering, and computer science. I was feeling some misgivings about this sudden change in direction, and although I was far past the age when I needed Mom’s approval to do something, I longed for it. Now I should also add that my mom was an intrinsically honest person, sometimes to the point of bluntness, and I knew full well that if she thought I was talentless, or if she thought what I was doing was just a wee bit odd, she would have said so straight out. So it was with a great deal of trepidation that I read my story to her. She listened carefully, smiled in all the right places, and when I finished, she hugged me close and said: “You have a talent, honey. Nurture it.” And with her blessing, I feel free to write now, knowing that I am writing for the two of us.

4 thoughts on “Nurture It

Leave a Reply

