Crime and Punishment

I really enjoy writing haibun, because they give me more of an opportunity to tell a story than single haiku. I find my inspiration for haibun in everyday events, but also in past memories. Here is one in the latter category, that recently won the An (Cottage) Prize in the 2012 Genjuan Haibun Contest. All of the winning haibun can be read on the Icebox blog.

Crime and Punishment

For reasons best known to her, my nursery school teacher has placed me on top of the upright piano because I refused to sing “I’m a Little Teapot” with the rest of the class. Actually, it wasn’t so much that I refused—I just wasn’t singing when Mrs. K. suddenly swept me up and placed me here, with my stocking feet dangling precariously over the edge of the piano, to reflect on my wrongdoings. I know Mom will straighten this all out when she comes to pick me up this afternoon, but right now, all I can think about is, it’s a long way down, if I should jump or fall.

lost…
mountains
everywhere I look

2 thoughts on “Crime and Punishment

Leave a Reply

