Favorite Childhood Books

 2012 Writer Mama Every-Day-In-May Book Giveaway, Day 12:

Today’s question, and my response:

5/12/12:

This seems like an appropriate question and some folks have already touched on the topic—give us your top five childhood books and why you loved them.

I’m not good at picking favorites. Let’s just go with the first 5 books I loved that I can come up with off the top of my head:

1. The Phantom Tollbooth, by Norton Juster- This book defies categorization. It is just so clever, and I pick up something new, each time I read it.

2. The Pink Motel, by Carol Ryrie Brink- It’s been years since I’ve read this, but I liked the illustrations, and how it combined reality and fantasy for a fun story.

3. Peachtree Island, by Mildred Lawrence- The ultimate feel-good book, it made me want to pack my bags and move to a peach tree farm.

4. Half Magic, by Edward Eager- The perfect fantasy book. Who doesn’t wish they could find a magic talisman?

5. Wally the Wordworm, by Clifton Fadiman- My dad gave it to me when I was little, and that would have been enough of a reason to enjoy it, even without all the clever wordplay.

I’ll stop with these five, but I could go on and on…

 

Leave a Reply

